Taipei Liaison Offices in South Africa

With Taipei Liaison offices in Pretoria, Johannesburg and Cape Town, the country of Taiwan, otherwise known as the Republic of China, maintains close ties with South Africa despite the fact that diplomatic ties between the two countries were terminated in January 1998. South Africa, in turn, has a liaison office located in Taiwan.

Split into four divisions, namely Economic, Information, Cultural and Service Coordination, the Taipei Liaison Office in South Africa serves to promote cultural, economic, trade, scientific, educational and financial cooperation between Taiwan and South Africa. The Taipei Liason Office in Sandton, Johannesburg, focuses on the issuing of visas and looking after the interests of Republic of China expatriates and Chinese-South Africans living in the South African provinces of Limpopo, Free State, North West, Mpumalanga, KwaZulu Natal and Gauteng, while the office in Cape Town serves these functions in the Eastern Cape, Northern Cape and Western Cape Provinces.

Taiwan, and more specifically the capital city of Taipei, are popular destinations for South African students taking a “gap year” between studies. It is also a popular tourist and trade destination, so whether you are traveling to Taipei for business or pleasure, contact the Taipei Liaison Office nearest to you for all the information you will need for a successful and enjoyable trip.

back to Trade