South Africa Language Translations

South Africa has fast become known as 'the Rainbow Nation' for the diverse array of races and ethnic groups are found among the country's citizens. The country truly is a centre for language and culture and this shines through no matter which province you visit. As you walk the city streets, you will meet people from every race, color and creed. While some may still be struggling to come to terms with the still relatively new found freedom of rights that now exists here, the majority of the people of South Africa have instead chosen to take advantage of the many opportunities this has opened up. As a result, you may find that South Africa is fast becoming an example of inter-cultural harmony for the rest of the world to follow.

One way in which the country stands out is by its adoption of eleven official languages.
New governmental powers saw the need to allow all major ethnic groups in the country to
express themselves freely. This has, in many respects, led to a higher level of understanding
between different cultural groups and greater freedom of speech. It also means that newspapers,
exams and other important information must be provided in the relevant official language which often leads to higher pass rates and better educated people. Currently the eleven official languages of
South Africa are: Afrikaans, English, IsiZulu, IsiXhosa, Sepedi, Setswana, Sesotho, Xitsonga, Swazi,
Tshivenda, IsiNdebele.

back to Business