Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Moving from Europe to South Africa

Originally posted by Detje
    Thank you so much for replying. I don't know what to think anymore. Is South Africa for us or not? I would very much like a teaching job there. I'm a language teacher and I speak fluently Dutch (my mothertongue), French, English and to some extend German.
    Do you think there will be a job for me?

How is education like in South Africa? Are there enough teachers? What is the salary?
    My husband is a technician. He now works in a laboratory for contruction materials. He runs the tests for e.g. tiles, bricks etc.

I find it most frustrating that there is so little thrustable information available. Although South Africa is coming up as 'the' holiday resort in TV commercials.

Thank you for helping me out,
    greetings,
    Detje
    English is taught in South African schools as a first, second and third language. French is taught in high schools as a third language, as is German, but less commonly. Dutch is not taught in South African schools, although first language Afrikaans students used to read some Dutch in their very senior course work.

South Africa is experiencing a shortage of teachers -- see the 11 Teachers a day die of AIDS thread for more information. The reality of it is that there are teaching jobs available, but most of them are likely in areas that a European immigrant would not like to teach in.