Importing my car any tips?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Importing my car any tips?

Dear all if I import my car into SA can I get duty and vat relief if I'm a returning resident and what are the criteria for being a "returning resident"?

I'm living in the UK but want to go home and I have been in the UK for 10 years.

Can't get a straight answer out of anyone and emails don't get answered by SA customs so any tips or contact details appreciated

N

When my parents were visiting my dad was trying to convince me to import my 2000 Mustang as he was under the impression that if you're a citizen and have owned the vehicle for over 2 years the import duty is waived. I'm not sure how accurate that is, however.

I know several people who have emigrated to South Africa and none have taken vehicles with them. Unless it's a collectors' or antique vehicle, I can't see why you would. If it's an obscure vehicle you would struggle to find parts, so I am guessing would have to be rather wealthy in which case the luxury taxes would be within your reach, and if it's a common-or-garden-variety vehicle which you could find in SA then it's most likely much cheaper to sell in the UK and buy locally.

Comment

Originally posted by ches View Post
      If it's an obscure vehicle you would struggle to find parts, so I am guessing would have to be rather wealthy in which case the luxury taxes would be within your reach, and if it's a common-or-garden-variety vehicle which you could find in SA then it's most likely much cheaper to sell in the UK and buy locally.
      Ah Ches It's a cherished old vehicle I've done some work on. So not wealthy, trying to save money.

Anyway if you know of anyone who has done it would appreciated tips or contact details.

I know people have brought cars in but I can't get a consistent answer as to how to work out taxes and duty so I can't make the calculations

If anyone knows of an agent who can arrange it on the SA end even better!!